0
leave dirty thumbprints all over my guestbook
welcome to the archives
all about me!
host
turnip pictures central
pass the love on, baby
ring-a-ding-dings
ceci n'est pas une boite
erstwhile today's special latterly

2002-05-02 - 11:19 p.m. -all over the place

While checking out my googles, I found someone who hates Cathy much more poetically than I. I especially enjoy the page of comments on strips that are no longer posted.


That little boy on Frontier House whose mother made him watch as they slaughtered his pig (which he had named Jo-Jo Tomato or something) is so going to grow up to be a vegan. I can't believe his mother let him name the food animals, especially after he was so broken up when they killed his chicken.


We watched Return of the Jedi on Fox tonight. It still irks me that George Lucas messed up all the music. That's one of those movies that I have seen so many times that I even have the sound cues memorized, and the new version grates on my ears.

A computer-generated Sy Snootles that has a little more leeway of motion when dancing (although I still hold a fond place in my heart for the old puppet's one-two step dance) is almost OK, but I can't understand why anyone would think the lyrics to "Lapti Nek" are dated. As if the rest of the Star Wars universe is able to be pinned down to a specific era as well. It's timeless classic, like Blade Runner. Or GAP khaki.

The crooning New Age Survivor-esque music that replaced the rollicking "jub-jub" Ewok celebration music at the end also sucks, and completely overrules any positive feelings I might have had about the new shots of Cloud City and Coruscant.

If he doesn't include both the new and the old versions whenever he releases all this on DVD, I am going to be super-peeved.


Kyle Real World Chicago has Gumby hair. I can't see him give a confessional without yelling, "I'm Gumby, dammit!" at the screen.


My favorite part about looking up books on Amazon is reading the negative reviews. Sometimes they are all I look at. Here's one of my recent favorites, commenting on Philip Pullman's Clockwork: I didn't really like this book. We read it in class and I was absent for one day and became totally lost. The book moves too quickly and isn't fit for anyone with an IQ above four. It was an insult to my intelligence and I don't like books that take place in Germany, they are scary. I wish that Phillip could have come up with something more like the Golden Compass or the Subtle Knife, this book was definetly his worst work. I'm sorry to say that I could not sit in class while this book was being read, I was forced to block it out and pretend that I was on Who Wants To Be A Milliionare.


Tonight we were watching the cats spat over something on the floor, and we got into an indolent debate about whether the morsel was a piece of lemon, or a piece of fish, or even food at all, and then we both burst out laughing when it dawned on us that there was a good chance that we've had this random piece of possible food on our floor for awhile, and that neither one of us had any intention of picking it up any time soon. It was all we could do to muster up the energy to turn it into a conversation piece.


New month, new poll.

the week in review...

just another brick in the wall - 2006-07-19

british telly shows - 2006-07-09

daddy day - 2006-05-18

not doing so well - 2006-04-21

lost and found - 2006-04-19

Welcome to Paradigm City
What rocks most about Big O?