0
leave dirty thumbprints all over my guestbook
welcome to the archives
all about me!
host
turnip pictures central
pass the love on, baby
ring-a-ding-dings
ceci n'est pas une boite
erstwhile today's special latterly

2002-11-07 - 12:25 a.m. -i used to be a teacher and stuff

This was a required college entry-level composition class. Thus, I assume, the lack of enthusiasm on my students' parts for showing up, let alone doing the work. I was required to teach it as part of my assistantship, so I was less than thoroughly involved in the proceedings myself. Still, at least I showed up. Sometimes fifteen minutes late, but whatever. Mornings are for sleepytime.

Worst excuses for missing class/not doing work ever

4.) The electrician was coming.

3.) I couldn't miss my court date.

2.) I fell asleep in my car in the parking lot (same student as in #3).

1.) One student did not show up for the last two months of class. Then he suddenly resurfaced at the final exam and spent an hour and a half scribbling furiously in his blue book (writing more than many of the actual students). And what did he write? Page after page of, "I am so sorry I did not do the work. Please fail me. I don't deserve to pass. I was busy, but that is no excuse. I have not read any of the books but one. I am so sorry for wasting your time. I know it was a good class, but I just couldn't come to it..."

Compelling, in a scary masochistic way.

the week in review...

just another brick in the wall - 2006-07-19

british telly shows - 2006-07-09

daddy day - 2006-05-18

not doing so well - 2006-04-21

lost and found - 2006-04-19

Welcome to Paradigm City
What rocks most about Big O?