0
leave dirty thumbprints all over my guestbook
welcome to the archives
all about me!
host
turnip pictures central
pass the love on, baby
ring-a-ding-dings
ceci n'est pas une boite
erstwhile today's special latterly

2004-09-23 - 9:31 p.m. -work hijinks...because that's all there is anymore

We have three adjoining rooms that make up my office, each with their own door into the main hallway. On average recently I've been the first one in every morning, so I've gotten to set up the room in which I work first (lights, A/C, etc.).

Because it's the westernmost room, I always go "Westside...represent!" just to get the day off on the right foot.




Because everyone else is superlazy and our receptionist doesn't make it in until 9, I have to answer the door buzzer a lot (sometimes while so distracted from being called away from my work that I go "This is rampy!" instead of "Who is it?" when I push the TALK button). I don't actually care who it is, and lots of times I just buzz people in without asking.

Last year, when middle sis was receptionist (before her two promotions), we had this running joke about the fact that the buzzer speaker was so crappy that for all she knew people could very well have been answering "It's the Murderer!" when she asked who it was. So we were laughing about that again the other day, and she was like, "It's the Murderer!" and I was like (deadpan) "Can you come down to help me with my hook?" and she answered deadpan back, "It's caught on something."

Then when I was telling the story to mr rampy, he was like, "I brought my own tarp."




A proofreader fell out of her chair so thunderously the other day that our receptionist seriously thought from the noise that one of our new desks had collapsed on her. Naturally physical comedy is always hilarious (I'm still laughing about when I slammed my forehead into the bottom edge of my over-the-desk cabinets--while on the phone, so I couldn't giggle or say "ow" or much of anything), but we all felt guilty laughing at this because the proofreader also had a plastic leg. Unfortunately we were all so busy working that no one had seen if the plastic leg was the catalyst for the fall, or if she slipped off the chair on her own.

the week in review...

just another brick in the wall - 2006-07-19

british telly shows - 2006-07-09

daddy day - 2006-05-18

not doing so well - 2006-04-21

lost and found - 2006-04-19

Welcome to Paradigm City
What rocks most about Big O?