0
leave dirty thumbprints all over my guestbook
welcome to the archives
all about me!
host
turnip pictures central
pass the love on, baby
ring-a-ding-dings
ceci n'est pas une boite
erstwhile today's special latterly

2002-02-11 - 10:32 p.m. -free therapy for everyone!

My company recently hooked us up with a free counselling service. It is v. v. confidential and so on, and it covers problems ranging from addictions to abuse to depression. Etc.

Which is great, except they were really freaking me out with the way they presented this new program to us. We had "training meetings" to teach us how to use the counsellors, and I started my training off on a bad foot by sitting at the very front table. I'm in a pretty contented part of my life right now, but if I have one problem/quirk/phobia left, it is other people. No touching me. No getting too close to me. No leaning into my body space at all, really. So just having the counsellor looming over me and speaking right into my face was already making me want to sign up for a session with her to tell her to BACK OFF MAN!

I'm not at all mocking the service itself. I think it's great, and I would totally avail myself of it if I needed to. But hey, why would the lady go on and on about how this is totally confidential and then keep pressing us to tell her A.) if we planned to use it, and B.) what for?

Yay, I can finally take care of that nagging crack problem! (thumbs up!)

It's like when I used to go shill for my school's writing center. You can tell people all you want that there isn't a stigma to using it, but just your words alone aren't going to convince them. And at least I wasn't like "You! You look like you use I and me improperly! And you! Have problems dropping articles do you, you non-native! See ya soon!"

the week in review...

just another brick in the wall - 2006-07-19

british telly shows - 2006-07-09

daddy day - 2006-05-18

not doing so well - 2006-04-21

lost and found - 2006-04-19

Welcome to Paradigm City
What rocks most about Big O?