0
leave dirty thumbprints all over my guestbook
welcome to the archives
all about me!
host
turnip pictures central
pass the love on, baby
ring-a-ding-dings
ceci n'est pas une boite
erstwhile today's special latterly

2002-05-19 - 11:58 p.m. -i like tapas!

I just do. What could be more fun than copious servings of tiny amounts of several different delicious foods? Really.

Big Star Wars piece coming tomorrow. Today, my geek credentials:

  • A New Hope was the first adult movie I ever saw in a theater (and by 'adult' I mean 'not Race for Your Life, Charlie Brown', which was the actual first movie I ever saw in a theater). At the ripe old age of 2 1/2, thank you very much.

  • I had a fairly complete set of the original toys. Not a Millenium Falcon, an omission that haunts me to this day. But I did have the original Princess Leia with a plastic (not cloth) cloak, and I can tell you exactly what color everyone's lightsaber was (yes, Dagobah Luke oddly had a yellow one). I had a later model Landspeeder that followed you around when you clicked an Artoo Detoo remote, but that was cool, so who cares.

  • I experienced all three movies in their original runs, which meant I spent six innocent years having my Princess Leia figures smooch the Luke ones before finding out that that was a no-no.

  • I own a Step-Into-Reading book about Chewbacca and his son, Lumpy, and life on the wookie planet of Kashyyyk.

  • When I was around five or six I woke up one night, sleepily spotted my Darth Vader bust plastic figure case on the floor across the room, and screamed because I thought Darth Vader was actually in the room with me. This was back when Darth Vader was genuinely scary, not camp or a flawed paternal figure.

  • I clearly remember a time when I could look at C-3P0 and not think, "The gay robot from Star Wars."

    the week in review...

    just another brick in the wall - 2006-07-19

    british telly shows - 2006-07-09

    daddy day - 2006-05-18

    not doing so well - 2006-04-21

    lost and found - 2006-04-19

  • Welcome to Paradigm City
    What rocks most about Big O?