0
leave dirty thumbprints all over my guestbook
welcome to the archives
all about me!
host
turnip pictures central
pass the love on, baby
ring-a-ding-dings
ceci n'est pas une boite
erstwhile today's special latterly

2003-10-29 - 11:59 p.m. -a new marketing idea

My brother designs/engineers video games. Once a game is pretty much put together, it is sent to professional testers who play the game over and over, checking for bugs.

Their playing is taped, so they can put together gag reels of the "best-of" moments, somewhat like the "best-of-drunks-in-the-drunk-tank" clip video I got to watch when I worked at a courthouse for the summer. Only in digital.

According to my brother, many of the bugs are funny to watch, like characters walking through walls or basically falling out of a room into blackness because the environments are only programmed to extend so far. But what makes the mistakes even funnier is the absolutely deadpan manner in which the testing managers describe the problems. For example, Arm should not detach during gameplay to descibe when a character's arm did, in fact, suddenly detach and sail across the screen.

That's the kind of thing I would love to see for myself, but inexplicably they don't include extras on computer games yet.

Yet. :tent fingers:

the week in review...

just another brick in the wall - 2006-07-19

british telly shows - 2006-07-09

daddy day - 2006-05-18

not doing so well - 2006-04-21

lost and found - 2006-04-19

Welcome to Paradigm City
What rocks most about Big O?