0
leave dirty thumbprints all over my guestbook
welcome to the archives
all about me!
host
turnip pictures central
pass the love on, baby
ring-a-ding-dings
ceci n'est pas une boite
erstwhile today's special latterly

2004-08-10 - 10:52 p.m. -kiddie coaster of death

While we were visiting Disneyworld a year or so ago we also stopped in at Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure.

mr rampy is not so much on the coasters. In fact, he had never been on one before this trip. I didn't know that, and he is such a good sport that he didn't make any fuss about me dragging him on his first coaster ever...the Aerosmith Rock 'n' Roller Coaster at MGM Studios. Then he staggered off it, somewhat smushed by the G-forces, and expressed a wish never to have to ride the rails again.

Which is all well and good, but the next day at Islands of Adventure we saw the cutest kiddie roller coaster. It was called the Flying Unicorn and it had itty-bitty little cars (pulled by a wooden unicorn head) and a wee track that wound through the trees, never looping upside-down or anything.

I begged him to go on it with me because we had to do something to kill the time while my dad and brother rode the Dueling Dragons (my mother was on a bench with her book; she was having none of this). I pointed out that the line led into a non-threatening forest cottage and was made up of three-year-olds and their parents.

So we waited in line and listened (over and over) to the spiel creaking from the audio-animatronic wizard's mouth about "Beware" this and "Watch out" for that. But we weren't scared. In fact, I made mr rampy sit in the very front seat so we could get the full experience (I intended to ride it a second time, this time in the last seat, but in the end that plan didn't pan out).

The ride started, and it turned out that although the track and cars were half-size (our knees were like up to our ears sitting in these cars), the turns and drops were strong enough to build up a pleasant momentum. Or as mr rampy put it: AAAUUUUUUUGGGGHHHH!!!

Finally the ride jolted to a stop and we glided back into the cottage to the strains of peaceful, tinkly pastoral music. mr rampy was in pain from being thrown from side to side in our mini-car, and I was in pain from whooping with laughter. As we exited the ride I insisted he let me take his picture with the "You must be this high to ride" sign. Even on his knees, he was taller than it.

When my sisters arrived the next day, he regaled them with tales of how wild the ride was. So when they spent their day at Islands of Adventure (mr rampy, mommy rampy, and I chose to go to Epcot and eat and booze our way across the World Showcase...I love you three dollar truffles at the International Food and Wine Festival!), they naturally made a beeline for the Flying Unicorn.

middle sis:(later) There was some old guy sleeping in front of us.

little sis: And that other lady was breastfeeding her baby during the ride.

I just wish it had been one of those coasters that takes your picture at the climax of the ride. That would have made the most awesome Christmas card for mr rampy and me ever.

the week in review...

just another brick in the wall - 2006-07-19

british telly shows - 2006-07-09

daddy day - 2006-05-18

not doing so well - 2006-04-21

lost and found - 2006-04-19

Welcome to Paradigm City
What rocks most about Big O?