0
leave dirty thumbprints all over my guestbook
welcome to the archives
all about me!
host
turnip pictures central
pass the love on, baby
ring-a-ding-dings
ceci n'est pas une boite
erstwhile today's special latterly

2005-11-01 - 9:27 a.m. -maybe baby

When we first started trying for a baby, I was terrified, TERRIFIED that Britney Spears and Cletus would beat us to the punch. Not that I was seriously afraid we'd have any trouble conceiving, but them popping out a little Cheeto Jr. before us would definitely have smarted.



I was gripped by a wave of shyness when I went to the store to get a pregnancy test. In fact, I made a point of going to a store we don't frequent often. I have an intensely private nature at times (this diary aside), and I didn't really want anyone knowing mr rampy's and my business at that early stage. But I figured that this process was like buying condoms; if you're not mature enough to purchase a pregnancy test, then you are certainly not mature enough to have a baby. Even so, I felt pretty awkward having to ask a clerk to open the glass case to get a test out for me, especially when she started chatting with a male co-worker about their upcoming weekends while holding the test absent-mindedly in her hand rather than handing it straight to me. Luckily the visit ended in high comedy, as it turned out this store had recently installed several self-checkout lanes. I was thrilled to be able to check the test out myself, but first I had to wait while this hickish man and his son cut blatantly in front of me and attempted over and over to scan a tomato.


Of course the next day mr rampy had to buy us another test because it turned out to be harder than I had anticipated to pee on the little stick, and only on the little stick.


We had second-row tickets to Mamma Mia! the day after we went to the doctor's to confirm the pregnancy. All was going well until they had a little mini-concert of ABBA songs at the end, the bass so loud I could feel it throbbing through every cell of my body. I was like "My fetus!" and leaning away from the back of my seat to try to reduce the vibrations as much as possible. That said, if baby rampy doesn't grow up to love ABBA, it won't be for lack of anything we did.

the week in review...

just another brick in the wall - 2006-07-19

british telly shows - 2006-07-09

daddy day - 2006-05-18

not doing so well - 2006-04-21

lost and found - 2006-04-19

Welcome to Paradigm City
What rocks most about Big O?