0
leave dirty thumbprints all over my guestbook
welcome to the archives
all about me!
host
turnip pictures central
pass the love on, baby
ring-a-ding-dings
ceci n'est pas une boite
erstwhile today's special latterly

2005-12-16 - 9:57 a.m. -bus of thievery

Yesterday baby rampy and I were eating lunch at Corner Bakery with my brother, mother, and middle sis. Baby rampy was being very good about playing by herself in her baby seat, but after awhile she was getting bored with the napkin I'd given her to play with, so I started looking around for something else to toss her way. She's very into phones--I think because those are something she sees me using alot, so she wants to use them too--so I was getting ready to give her my mom's (mine was back at the house).

But my mom was like "What are you doing!" and while I was explaining my thought process to her, my brother gave baby rampy his cell phone.

His cell phone recently went on a wacky adventure wherein it was stolen from his place and ended up on the floor of a bus, where it was discovered by a Good Samaritan who actually took the time to call through the contacts numbers to find someone who would tell him my brother's address, and who then turned up on my brother's doorstep at 8:00 AM like "Here ya go!"

So I was like, "We know for a fact that phone's been on the floor of a bus, plus there's the whole 'touched by a thief and then a Good Samaritan' thing. Did you clean it after that?"

brother: Sure, and anyway, the thief was probably wearing gloves.

me: Um, the "thief" most likely entered your condo by randomly trying doorknobs until he found an unlocked door. In fact, he was probably some drunken college kid.

middle sis: He probably even just thought he was in his own place at first.

me: (remembering that among the things stolen were a pile of Japanese yen from my brother's recent trip abroad, plus his camera with Japan pictures, and pretending to be the drunken thief looking at the pile of yen) I went to Japan???

middle sis: (playing along) I must have. Here are pictures of it on my camera!

me: Ha! Maybe some other Good Samaritan will find your camera on the bus and track you down through the pictures. And anyway, back to the gloves thing. I don't think the thief was wearing gloves when he "broke in." And I don't think it counts as "breaking in" if you leave your door unlocked. Doing that kind of increases the pool of people likely to burglarize you, and decreases the chance that the burglar will be some actual "thief" with "tools of the trade" like gloves.

mom: Maybe you should ride the bus yourself to find the thief.

me: What,look around at the other people and try to spot someone who looks like a thief?

brother: Yeah, I should start riding the bus and hope he drops the rest of my stuff.

the week in review...

just another brick in the wall - 2006-07-19

british telly shows - 2006-07-09

daddy day - 2006-05-18

not doing so well - 2006-04-21

lost and found - 2006-04-19

Welcome to Paradigm City
What rocks most about Big O?