0
leave dirty thumbprints all over my guestbook
welcome to the archives
all about me!
host
turnip pictures central
pass the love on, baby
ring-a-ding-dings
ceci n'est pas une boite
erstwhile today's special latterly

2002-05-13 - 10:15 p.m. -american spasmo

So I went and got my Star Wars tickets yesterday.

Some time last week I started seriously planning this operation. Plan One was trying to score online tickets to this posh digital theater in the burbs with leather seats and drinks. Plan Two was to let my friend's husband get tickets on Friday for the theater he works next door to (they don't sell online tickets, so he thought this would be a sure thing).

Then I did a little digging and found out that Star Wars is actually opening Wednesday. Then I found out late yesterday afternoon that tickets were on sale online already (though not for posh theater in the burbs where we were no longer even sure it would ever play).

So I spazzed, found a good digital theater that was playing Star Wars on Thursday night (even I am not going to skip work Wednesday just to see this at noon) near where mr rampy has classes. I called my friend and her husband to see if they wanted us to go pick tickets up for them if tickets were available (I had keys in my hand and was halfway at the door by this point). And she said, no! I couldn't believe it. So what if it's a work night and we're seeing the 10:15? Whatever wuss!

So we zoomed down to the theater, me literally bouncing up and down in my seat like, "Star Wars! Star Wars!" And we pull up in front of the theater, and there are like 10 black SUV's, a limo, and three buses already there.

Turns out they were having some special preview showing that we had totally missed, but that's fine, because I was obviously not on whatever mailing list put out the good word about this event. All I ever heard about was the special showing at the planetarium that you had to pay $500 for.

So to get to the box office I had to wade through throngs of burbling kids all carrying special plastic bags full of Star Wars give-aways. I should have rolled one (each family had like four bags, after all) just to see what they had gotten, but I was too focused on the task at hand: get tickets!

Which I did, with no problem whatsoever. The guy was totally laid-back about the whole thing, from which I surmise there hasn't been a huge rush on tickets yet.

So now I have 2 tickets neatly tucked in my wallet and a game plan for when to get in line on Thursday.

Then we went to see Spiderman, and we got to that theater early, so we went next door to Barnes & Noble where I bought a copy of the new Reader's Guide to American Psycho, and the lady checking me out looked at me as if I were psycho for buying it. Then she went, "Yeah, I guess it was...long...so this would help you read it." I think she thought this was a condensed version consisting only of the sex and gore parts, for those too lazy to flip pages.

I hate service industry people making comments about my purchases. When I worked in the service industry (at a book store and at a movie theater), I never opened my big yawp, even when people paid for $2 bags of popcorn with a hundred dollar bill from their pimp roll or came in every Saturday to buy one scantron (rather than, you know, stock up all at once).

Then we saw Spiderman, and the previews went on for so long that by the time the movie finally started I was like STAR WARS! because it felt like a week had already passed.

the week in review...

just another brick in the wall - 2006-07-19

british telly shows - 2006-07-09

daddy day - 2006-05-18

not doing so well - 2006-04-21

lost and found - 2006-04-19

Welcome to Paradigm City
What rocks most about Big O?